Good day fellow Lions, Lionesses, Leos and friends.

Amazingly, we have come to the end of the Lionistic year. It feels like only a few days ago that I was installed as the 2016/2017 District Governor at the Lions International Convention in Japan. I strongly believe our District’s members, clubs and the District itself has had an excellent year of service to people in need. Our clubs and members have served more than 85000 people in at least 825 projects over more than 14500 hours – we can all be very proud of the passionate service we have selflessly provided to so many needs this year.

Thank you to all of the clubs who graciously welcomed me to their meetings during the year – I left every club inspired by new projects and ideas. Every club has a unique blend of projects adding up to thousands of different ways to serve the needy. If I was not able to visit your club, my apologies – my business commitments were quite extensive during some of the year and I was not able to visit every club. I was however equally inspired by projects and ideas detailed in the minutes of clubs I was not able to visit.

I have met and interacted with hundreds of Lions at club visits, the Midyear Conference and the MD Convention – thank you to every member for fantastic conversations and for sharing their wisdom.

The District cabinet has worked tirelessly through the year to assist every club to serve as effectively as possible. Thank you to every District Chair, Zone Chair and all cabinet officers for devoting a large amount of time and effort this year to serve the District’s members and clubs.

I am deeply grateful to every Lion, Lioness, Leo and friend of the Lions who has worked tirelessly to serve while enjoying good fellowship with your Lions family. It has been my utmost pleasure to represent our fantastic District during the year to the MD and to LCI.

Congratulations to every incoming president and office holder of our clubs, zones and the District. I have no doubt that you will all have a terrific year of service.

DGE Ken Toward will be installed as the next District Governor on 4 July at the final plenary session of the 100th Lions Clubs International Convention in Chicago. I am looking forward to the coming Lionistic year as DGE Ken takes our District to greater heights, scaling higher mountains of need with dedicated service.

Thank you all for truly sparking your passion to serve over this past Lionistic year, both as experienced Lions and in our new family members. It has been my great honour and privilege to serve as your District Governor. It has been a fantastic year entirely because every Lion, Lioness and Leo has served their communities and the world with extreme passion, truly showing what it means to be a Lion.

Domo arigato!

Yours in Lionism
DG Kim